Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, we’ve reached the conclusion of my coverage of the films of 2016, almost four months past relevancy, but I’m proud to have completed something. To cap everything off and send it out on a high-note, I’ve finally finished something else I thought I’d give a try. For the past couple of weeks I’ve been assembling a video tribute/countdown to act as an accompanying piece to the blog entries, or, if you don’t feel like reading, perhaps it can act as a substitute. For those of you who are regular readers, you know I can get somewhat long-winded and verbose, so it shouldn’t come as any surprise that this video turned out to be twice as long as originally intended. That being said, I’m pretty proud of what I’ve been able to create by cutting together soundtrack choices and footage from trailers, so I hope you’ll give it a watch. I’ve attempted to use rhythmic editing and specific music pairings to create a small story that ideally gives you a one-minute feeling of the whole. If anything, hopefully it might inspire you to re-watch some, or even take a chance on one you haven’t seen. Please enjoy:

2016 IN FILM: A SUPERCUT/COUNTDOWN

 


And having spent an extensive amount of time pouring over various music selections from every new film I happened to see in the last year, I assembled quite a list of songs, and quite a few that I really enjoyed despite being able to only use a select few for the video above. So, as another conclusive celebration of the year in film, I assembled this playlist for myself, and I figured I’d share it with you all as well. I don’t claim to have any sort of knack for putting something like this together, but I attempted to do my best to have it tell a story of some kind, even if the flow isn’t always perfect. So here’s this:

2016: THE FILM YEAR IN MUSIC

tumblr_o3kxn3Utkw1sceyu3o1_500

“Another Day of Sun” – Cast of LA LA LAND – LA LA LAND

“Good Times Roll” – The Cars – EVERYBODY WANTS SOME!!

“Dream Baby Dream” – Bruce Springsteen – AMERICAN HONEY

“Try Everything” – Shakira – ZOOTOPIA

“Someone in the Crowd” – Cast of LA LA LAND – LA LA LAND

giphy (5)

“DJ” – David Bowie – 20TH CENTURY WOMEN

“Lights and Music” – Cut Copy – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“Start a Fire” – John Legend – LA LA LAND

“I Think We’re Alone Now” – Tommy James & The Shondells – 10 CLOVERFIELD LANE

“Emotional Rescue” – The Rolling Stones – A BIGGER SPLASH

tumblr_o2ib5sy4ho1u0i4j6o4_500

“Up” – Sing Street – SING STREET

“Sweet Child ‘O Mine” – Cast of Captain Fantastic – CAPTAIN FANTASTIC

“A Beautiful Sea” – Sing Street – SING STREET

“City of Stars” – Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone – LA LA LAND

“Love & Happiness” – Al Green – THE NICE GUYS

tumblr_o6eesbzhmb1spgwzwo5_500

“To Find You” – Sing Street – SING STREET

“Montage (feat. Paul Dano and Daniel Radcliffe)” – Andy Hull, Robert McDowell – SWISS ARMY MAN

“Something’s Gotten Hold of My Heart” – Nick Cave – THE LOBSTER

“Fade Into You” – Mazzy Star – AMERICAN HONEY

“When They Fight, They Fight” – Generationals – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

giphy (3)

“Genghis Khan” – Miike Snow – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“8896” – Låpsley – AMERICAN HONEY

“Worried About You” – The Rolling Stones – A BIGGER SPLASH

“When I’m Small” – Phantogram – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“Waving Goodbye” – Sia – THE NEON DEMON

58e57c90c6bd9415514893

“One Step Ahead” – Aretha Franklin – MOONLIGHT

“Moon Is Up” – The Rolling Stones – A BIGGER SPLASH

“In Between Days” – The Cure – SING STREET

“We Found Love” – Calvin Harris feat. Rihanna – AMERICAN HONEY

“Ghost in the Wind” – Birdy – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

tumblr_o23b6tgnHO1qe6vjyo1_500

“Never Give Up” – Sia – LION

“No Dames!” – Channing Tatum, Cast of Hail Caesar! – HAIL CAESAR!

“Ocean Blue” – Moniker – HUNT FOR THE WILDERPEOPLE

“Sabotage” – Beastie Boys – STAR TREK: BEYOND

“The Big Country” – Talking Heads – 20TH CENTURY WOMEN

giphy (6)

“Hard Luck” – Black Pistol Fire – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“Sky on Fire (Eo17 Remix)” – Handsome Poets – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“Miss Manhattan” – Metropole – A BIGGER SPLASH

“I’m So Humble” – The Lonely Island feat. Adam Levine – POPSTAR: NEVER STOP NEVER STOPPING

“Who I Thought You Were” – Santigold – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

SingStreet

“Drive It Like You Stole It” – Sing Street – SING STREET

“Bad Decisions” – Two Door Cinema Club – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“Somebody Else” – The 1975 – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“People Help The People” – Birdy – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“While My Guitar Gently Weeps” – Regina Spektor – KUBO AND THE TWO STRINGS

giphy

“To Build A Home” – The Cinematic Orchestra – THE EDGE OF SEVENTEEN

“Don’t Worry About the Government” – Talking Heads – 20TH CENTURY WOMEN

“Greatest Love of All” – Whitney Houston – TONI ERDMANN

“God’s Whisper” – Raury – AMERICAN HONEY

“Aurora” – Kiah Victoria – THE FITS

giphy (4)

“Hello Stranger” – Barbara Lewis – MOONLIGHT

“River Rocket (feat. Paul Dano and Daniel Radcliffe)” – Andy Hull, Robert McDowell – SWISS ARMY MAN

“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” – Emma Stone – LA LA LAND

“Go Now” – Adam Levine – SING STREET

la-la-gif

Care to listen to the whole thing? I’ve compiled it all into one long playlist on YouTube for your listening ease:


That concludes the coverage of 2016, but feel free to go back and revisit anything you missed. Thanks for reading, and be on the lookout for new future posts from the blog!

