Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

grandmaster-kissIn the past, I’ve always counted down my favorite films of the past year in an effort to celebrate the work I had enjoyed the most, and because I love lists. Last year, I became overly ambitious. I attempted to go through my top 45 films of 2012 over 45 days, writing about each in turn; a feat ridiculous for anyone with brains. I progressively wrote more and more until it began to take up more time than I expected, and I only got to number 21. The remaining top 20 were listed off with very little pomp & circumstance, and I was ultimately disappointed with myself.

This year, it appears I have not learned from the year prior. 2013 was a wonderful year for film, and rather than 45, I have downscaled minutely to 35. 35 great films from the year 2013 because, well, I’d like to write about them all.

Some fine films missed the cut this year, though they do deserve mention, as excellent direction, acting, cinematography, editing, score, sound, visual effects, screenplays, production design, costumes, makeup, and songs abound. Here are the Honorable Mentions, in no particular order: August: Osage County, The Grandmaster, Star Trek: Into Darkness, Prince Avalanche, Kill Your Darlings, Side Effects, American Hustle, Saving Mr. Banks, Frances Ha, The Way Way Back, Trance, and The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

So, without further ado, let the countdown commence.

Catching Fire

